Follow @magicalday44
 
 

Virginia beach travel tips

  My family and I have been traveling to Virginia Beach since 1994. We have learned ways to cut costs and have a great memorable vacation. We will give you our tips on where to stay, eat and play.

 

 

 

 

  Top 5 picks: Hotels 

A great way to cut costs is to book an efficiency room, this allows you to prepare meals in your room, have drinks and snacks on hand. Unlike a Disney Wolrd vacation you use your room so much it is a good idea to get a quality room.

 1. Comfort Inn at 24th street is our choice http://www.choicehotels.com/
 2. Holiday Inn Surfside or Oceanside http://www.holidayinn.com/ 
 3. Courtyard by Marriot
 4. Best Western Colonial Inn http://www.bestwestern.com/ 
 5. 31 Ocean Hilton http://www.hilton.com/

* for more listings of hotels go to http://www.vbfun.com/

 

Tips on where to eat:

*Save Money by eating at least one meal in your room

* Many grocery stores are near the beach to purchase essentials.

* 7-11 stores are located one block off the beach.

* Fast food restaurants are available on Pacific Ave.

* Frankies ribs is located off the beach but is worth the drive.

* Many hotels offer free breakfast.

* Jody's popcorn is a great snack to enjoy on the beach or while shopping http://www.jodyspopcorn.com/

* Ice Cream: Dairy Queen, Kohr Bro's.,and a little unnamed ice cream stand on   the 17th Street Pier, are our favorites. www.dairyqueen.com     

* Pizza: Bella Pizza on Atlantic is good and Pizza Hut on Pacific is good www.pizzahut.com

* Doughboys Pizza is fun with the free Hawaiian lays www.doughboyspizza.com

* McDonald's , Wendy's and Pizza Hut are located on Pacific Ave.

* Sea Food restaurants are everywhere many on the boardwalk with views of the ocean.

* Captain George's Seafood Buffet on Laskin Rd. is AWESOME! A wonderful buffet and great T-shirts to bring home with you.

.

What to do at the Beach:

*The biggest tip is relax, take it easy,keep it simple. Virginia Beach offers a world class beach, the best entertainment a family ever wanted and its free. 

* After many vacations my children's favorite activities are still,playing in the sand and riding the waves.

* A three mile boardwalk and bike path offer a great area for biking, rollerblading, jogging, and strolling.

* Rollerblades and bikes are available for rent in many area's of the beach. Or save money and bring your own.

* Enjoy Beach Street USA's free entertainment on Atlantic Ave. www.beachstreetusa.com for a schedule of entertainment.

* Hilby is our favorite show to catch, he is usually  located on 23rd street .www.hilby.net He will be performing August 8th-14th.

* Watch the Navy jets fly overhead and the Navy ships go out to sea.

* The Cape Henry lighthouses are interesting, just a short drive down the beach.

* The Virginia Marine Science Museum has a lot to offer and is great way to spend a afternoon.

* Nauticus in Norfolk is alot fun, you can go on the U.S.S. Wisconsin and see what a battleship is like.

* Putt Putt courses are located on Pacific Ave., we like Jungle Golf. www.junglegolf.com

* Dolphin watching is always fun on the beach. 

* Busch Gardens Williamsburg and water Country USA are only 1 hour away. www.buschgardens.com

* Colonial  Williamsburg is interesting to see. A complete change of pace from the beach. We enjoy strolling through the Colonial area and shopping in Merchants square.  www.colonialwilliamsburg.com

 

 

                                                        

 

 

 

Website Builder